

# **Personal Wireless Communications**

(PWC'2002) October 23-25, 2002

### Singapore

Mobile communications has created a major breakthrough in new telecom services worldwide during the last decade. It is expected that the number of global mobile connections exceed the number of fixed connections in the next five-year period. At the same time, the new IMT2000 compatible Third Generation (3G) broadband networks and services will be available. The data

service breakthrough enabled by Internet will create new possibilities for mobile and wireless

services. A lot of research is also targeted to wireless Internet services and IP-mobility. The topics

can be examined from the viewpoint of architecture and protocols, modulation, coding and decoding, methods of communication functions (multiple access, error control, flow control, routing, etc.), security, implementation, user aspects, legal, economic, social, and human related issues.

Details may be found at: http://www.cwc.nus.edu.sg/pwc2002

Institute for Communications Research







### **Important Dates**

Paper submissions deadline : May 15, 2002 Notification of acceptance : June 15, 2002 Camera Ready versions due :July 15, 2002

Arup ACHARYA, USA Sathish CHANDRAN, Malaysia Marco CONTI, Italy Franco DAVOLI, Italy Silvia GIORDANO, Switzerland Veikko HARA, Finland Takeshi HATTORI, Japan Sonia HEEMSTRA de GROOT, Netherlands Villy Back IVERSEN, Denmark Ousmane KONÉ, France Pascal LORENZ, France

Working Group 6.8 Gerald MAGUIRE Jr., Sweden Olli MARTIKAINEN, Finland

#### Conference Chair

Kin Mun Lye ICR, Singapore

Technical Program Chair Guy Omidyar

ICR, Singapore

#### **Technical Scientific Committee**

Nejik Al-Asedi, MIMOS, Malaysia Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University, USA Mario Gerla, UCLA, USA Mohammed Ghanbari, Univ. of Essex, UK Hermann Helgert, George Washington University, Rudolf Jager, BetaResearch, Germany

Jamshid Khun Jush, Ericsson, Germany Parviz Kermani, IBM Watson Research, USA

Sastri Kota, Loral, USA

Khaled Ben Letaief, Hong Kong Univ, HK Petri Mahonen, University of Oulu, Finland Gerard Maral, ENST, Site de Toulouse, France Jon Mark, University of Waterloo, Canada Marie-Jose Montpetit, Nokia, USA Mahmoud Naghshineh, IBM research, USA Kaveh Pahlavan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA Ramjee Prasad, Aalborg University, Denmark

Izhak Rubin, UCLA, USA Djamel Sadok, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco,

Mansoor Shafi, Telecom corp. of New Zealand, NZ Harsha Sirisena, University of Canterbury, NZ

Do van Thanh, Telenor, Norway T.T. Tjhung, ICR, Singapore

Oliver Yang, Universite d'Ottawa, Canada

Ignacious NIEMEGEERS, Netherlands

Guy OMIDYAR (Tech Program Chair), Singapore

## **Technical Subject Categories**

Wireless Access networks

Wireless LANs

Cellular networks

Digital microwave systems and networks

Digital radio and TV broadcasting

Satellite networks

Short range communications and applications

Mobile personal communications

Issues for Wireless Multimedia Networking

Radio Access Techniques for Broadband Mobile

Communications

Technologies, Services and Applications

Design Issues and Performance Evaluation

Economic Issues

#### **Submission Guidelines**

Papers are invited on the conference theme and related topics. Please submit extended abstracts, which after acceptance need to be expanded to full paper including figures. Accepted formats include Microsoft Word, PostScript and PDF. The submission of papers should follow the same format as stated in the IFIP publication at: http://www.wkap.com/ifip http://www.ifip.tu-graz.ac.at/Tc6/

Authors must state that their paper has neither been published before nor currently being submitted elsewhere. The cover page must contain an abstract of about 150 words, name and affiliation of author(s) as well as the lead author's postal address, telephone number, fax number and e-mail. The language of the conference is English and papers must be in this language. Accepted papers will also be distributed on the conference's Lecture Notes from Kluwer Academic Publishers at: http://www.wkap.com/ifip

All submissions should be sent to: Technical Program Chair: gomidyar@cwc.nus.edu.sg

Guy PUJOLLE, France Debashis SAHA, India Tadao SAITO, Japan Jan SLAVIK (WG 6.8 Chair), Czech Republic Otto SPANIOL, Germany Samir TOHME, France Andras G.VALKO, Hungary Adam WOLISZ, Germany Jozef WOZNIAK, Poland