

Personal Wireless Communications

(PWC'2002) October 23-25, 2002

Singapore

Details may be found at: http://www.cwc.nus.edu.sg/pwc2002



Mobile communications has created a major breakthrough in new telecom services worldwide during the last decade. It is expected that the number of global mobile connections exceed the number of fixed connections in the next five-year period. At the same time, the new IMT2000 compatible Third Generation (3G) broadband networks and services will be available. The data service breakthrough enabled by Internet will create new possibilities for mobile and wireless services. A lot of research is also targeted to wireless Internet services and IP-mobility. The topics can be examined from the viewpoint of architecture and protocols, modulation, coding and decoding, methods of communication functions (multiple access, error control, flow control, routing, etc.), security, implementation, user aspects, legal, economic, social, and human related issues.



Conference Chair Kin Mun Lye

CWC, NUS, Singapore

Technical Program Chair Guy Omidyar CWC, NUS, Singapore



Technical Scientific Committee

Nejik Al-Asedi, MIMOS, Malaysia Sonia Fahmy, Purdue University, USA Mario Gerla, UCLA, USA Mohammed Ghanbari, Univ. of Essex, UK Hermann Helgert, George Washington University, USA Rudolf Jager, BetaResearch, Germany

Jamshid Khun Jush, Ericsson, Germany Parviz Kermani, IBM Watson Research, USA Sastri Kota, Loral, USA

Khaled Ben Letaief, Hong Kong Univ, HK
Petri Mahonen, University of Oulu, Finland
Gerard Maral, ENST, Site de Toulouse, France
Jon Mark, University of Waterloo, Canada
Marie-Jose Montpetit, Nokia, USA
Mahmoud Naghshineh, IBM research, USA
Kaveh Pahlavan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Izhak Rubin, UCLA, USA Djamel Sadok, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco,

Ramjee Prasad, Aalborg University, Denmark

Oliver Yang, Universite d'Ottawa, Canada

Mansoor Shafi, Telecom corp. of New Zealand, NZ Harsha Sirisena, University of Canterbury, NZ Do van Thanh, Telenor, Norway T.T. Tjhung, CWC, NUS, Singapore



Important Dates

Paper submissions deadline: May 15, 2002 Notification of acceptance: June 15, 2002 Camera Ready versions due: July 15, 2002

Working Group 6.8 Arup ACHARYA, USA Sathish CHANDRAN, Malaysia Marco CONTI, Italy Franco DAVOLI, Italy Silvia GIORDANO, Switzerland Veikko HARA, Finland Takeshi HATTORI, Japan Sonia HEEMSTRA de GROOT, Netherlands Villy Back IVERSEN, Denmark Ousmane KONÉ, France Pascal LORENZ, France Gerald MAGUIRE Jr., Sweden Olli MARTIKAINEN, Finland Ignacious NIEMEGEERS, Netherlands Guy OMIDYAR (Tech Program Chair), Singapore

Technical Subject Categories

Wireless Access networks
Wireless LANs
Cellular networks
Digital microwave systems and networks
Digital radio and TV broadcasting
Satellite networks
Short range communications and applications
Mobile personal communications

Issues for Wireless Multimedia Networking
Radio Access Techniques for Broadband Mobile
Communications

Technologies, Services and Applications
Design Issues and Performance Evaluation
Economic Issues

Submission Guidelines

Papers are invited on the conference theme and related topics. Please submit extended abstracts, which after acceptance need to be expanded to full paper including figures. Accepted formats include Microsoft Word, PostScript and PDF. The submission of papers should follow the same format as stated in the IFIP publication at: http://www.ifip.tu-graz.ac.at/Tc6/

Authors must state that their paper has neither been published before nor currently being submitted elsewhere. The cover page must contain an abstract of about 150 words, name and affiliation of author(s) as well as the lead author's postal address, telephone number, fax number and e-mail. The language of the conference is English and papers must be in this language. Accepted papers will also be distributed on the conference's Lecture Notes from Kluwer Academic Publishers at: http://www.wkap.com/ifip

All submissions should be sent to: Technical Program Chair: gomidyar@cwc.nus.edu.sg

Guy PUJOLLE, France
Debashis SAHA, India
Tadao SAITO, Japan
Jan SLAVIK (WG 6.8 Chair), Czech Republic
Otto SPANIOL, Germany
Samir TOHME, France
Andras G.VALKO, Hungary
Adam WOLISZ, Germany
Jozef WOZNIAK, Poland